logo
This page will walk you through users and orgs and the differences between them. You will also learn about the different user and how to add or remove users.
Org: This refers to a customer account that can be managed. An Org can be a User if used for an individual account or a team if used for a group of users.
User: This refers to an individual user. In Nimbus, a user is tied to one individual e-mail address.

Users

There are two primary user roles:
  • Admins have full access to Nimbus. They can:
    • Manage org-level details (e.g. org name, github integration, etc.)
    • Add or remove users
    • Create, update or delete templates at the org level
    • Create, update, or delete workspaces and snapshots at the user level.
    • Admins can not access a user’s workspace or snapshot unless the user provides access.
  • Members have access that is limited to developing on Nimbus. They can:
    • Create, update or delete templates at the org level
    • Create, update, or delete workspaces and snapshots at the user level.
  • Custom roles can be created based on specific needs. This is a great way to get access needed for different teams like IT, DevOps, SRE, etc.
Adding users:
  • Click the blue “Invite Users” button in the top right of the page
  • Add the email address of the user you’d like to invite and select the user role to be assigned
  • When the invited user signs up via the invite link, they will be automatically assigned to the org
    • If the user already has an account, they will need to sign up with a different email address or an email subaddress.
Removing users:
  • Click the drop-down next to the user you’d like to remove
  • You will have the option to “Remove user” in the drop-down. Select this option and confirm the selection in the pop up window to remove the user completely

Helpful?